Our main museum gallery has two floors and features a variety of frequently changing displays, which showcase just some of our nearly 20,000 artifacts.

Main Museum Building

Reid House is open from Victoria Day weekend until Thanksgiving. Dating from 1882, the house was the museum’s first home, and it has been referred to as our “largest artifact“. The house was built by John Russell Reid Jr. around the time of his marriage to Janet Clinkscale and it remained in the Reid family until 1967. The house has been restored to c. 1900 when John and Janet would have been living there with their three children, Russell (age 17), Charlotte (age 15) and Agnes (age 13).

The Reid House

Down the lane, close to the Haliburton School of the Arts, sits our 1870’s farmstead. Many early settlers who came to the Haliburton area hoped to take advantage of the vast unsettled pieces of land for farming, but faced many challenges. Many families turned to other pursuits, and even more made their way to Manitoba and other western provinces. Our farmstead captures that era before the railway arrived in 1878 and reflects the kind of life a family of modest means settling in Haliburton would have had. In the summer months, a peek in our forge will often reveal a blacksmith tinkering away…

The Homestead